Clock

[ clock >> ]
basic লেবেলটি সহ পোস্টগুলি দেখানো হচ্ছে৷ সকল পোস্ট দেখান
basic লেবেলটি সহ পোস্টগুলি দেখানো হচ্ছে৷ সকল পোস্ট দেখান

শনিবার, ২৮ ডিসেম্বর, ২০১৩

Create an Adorable Hedgehog with Basic Tools in Inkscape

AppId is over the quota
AppId is over the quota

In this tutorial, we’ll be using basic shapes in Inkscape to create a hedgehog character. We’ll also go over some neat concepts such as custom tapered lines, random object scattering, and shape manipulation.

We’re going to start with drawing some spikes. Grab the Polygon tool and select the Star polygon mode, then set Corners: 15 and Spoke ratio: 0.8. Then, just draw a polygon (size doesn’t matter just yet) with a brown fill.

draw polygon

Let’s resize this polygon to W: 410px and H: 465px.

resize polygon

For some added depth, let’s duplicate the polygon and give the new one a fill slightly darker than the original. We’ll be putting these shapes on top of each other later.

duplicate shape

Since we’ll be overlapping these two shapes, let’s give our new polygon a Stroke Width: 13px (same color as fill) so it stands out more.

add stroke

With both of the polygons selected, pull up Object > Align and Distribute so we can get these situated. Click Center on vertical axis along with Align top edges. They should align as shown below.

align two polygons

Now we have to draw the inner-hedgehog body. Just grab the Ellipse tool and draw a perfect circle by holding Control-dragging. With this circle selected, head up to Path > Object to Path so we can manipulate this shape later. Also, give the fill a nice tan color.

draw circle

We can now use the Nodes tool to transform this circle into a hedgehog shape as shown below. I ended up with a Height: 366px and Width: 266px.

adjust circle

With the Polygon tool, draw a normal polygon with Corners: 3 so we get a perfect triangle. Hold Control to keep it straight. With the triangle selected, go to Path > Object to Path again.

draw triangle polygon

Use the Nodes tool to select all of the nodes and then click Make selected nodes symmetric.

smooth selected nodes

This will be the dark spot under the actual eye balls, so use those nodes and handles to get a shape similar to below. You’ll notice that I moved the eye spot onto the body at this point so I could get a better feel of what would look best.

put into shape

For the actual eye ball, grab the Ellipse tool and hold Control-drag to create a perfect circle to fit in this eye spot. Give it a dark gray color.

draw perfect circle

Now do the same thing with even smaller circles to make some glare spots. You can just make these white.

draw eye reflections

When you’re finished with one eye, you can duplicate it along with flipping it horizontally. Don’t forget to skip flipping those glare spots!

duplicate and mirror

As we’ve been doing, draw an Ellipse, Path > Object to Path, and manipulate nodes into a snout shape.

draw an ellipse

Then we’ll go ahead with a dark gray, oval shaped nose using the Ellipse tool. Also, we can just duplicate the nose and shrink it down for the glare spot (color of white, of course).

draw circle

We should have something like this so far. You can always play with things such as eye spacing, nose spacing, etc. to ensure maximum cuteness.

hedgehog so far

To keep things simple, that brown eye spot we created can be duplicated for the ears – how convenient! I just rotated mine a bit to get the pointiest edge pointing outwards along with stretching it to a proper ear size.

copy eye spot

Give this ear a nice thick Stroke width: 12px. Give the fill a pink/salmon color and make the stroke the same skin color. Also, send the ear behind the inner-body, but above the spikes. With the ear selected, you can use Page Up and Page Down to adjust this (or go to Object > Raise/Lower).

style the ears

And of course, duplicate and flip that ear for the other side. You can position these to your liking.

duplicate and flip ears

The concept of doing custom strokes in Inkscape is to draw the shape you want for a path. For tapered lines in this case, I created a square, rotated it 45 degrees, and flattened it out as shown below. This way, our stroke will gradually come in and then gradually come out – tapered line.

tapered line shape

I’ve also smoothed the top and bottom nodes for extra slick strokes.

smooth the nodes

For our tapered lines, we’ll be using the Pencil tool. Set the Smoothing: 50 and Shape: From clipboard. From clipboard means whatever you’ve previously copied will be assigned as your stroke. So, select that tapered shape we made and copy it (Control + C). Then, go ahead and give it a test! I just drew a line to demonstrate below.

assign shape to stroke

With the Pencil tool still selected, go ahead and draw yourself a little hand-shaped thing. You can use the nodes afterwards to polish it up a bit. Now, when you go ahead and set the color to this, you’ll notice it’s actually a fill now instead of a stroke. I’ll explain this issue later on.

draw the hands

Of course, duplicate and horizontal flip the hand for the other side. Again, you can position/space these as you please.

duplicate the arms

We’ll draw the feet the same as the hands (you can even just copy and paste for an added convenience). Go ahead and position it, but this is when you’ll notice the “fill” issue with tapered lines. Let’s solve this!

draw a foot

Duplicate our foot and let’s put it over a square (Object to Path that square). We’re going to create a cut-out for the fill using some path operations. So with the foot and square selected, head up to Path > Intersection.

square for the fill

You should end up with something like this.

cutout shape for foot

You can now grab that foot fill and place it in the tapered line foot, preferably lower it behind the foot (Align and Distribute, center on both axis would also work to position the fill properly). When you’ve finished that, it’s time to duplicate and flip.

position feet fills

To add a little more depth, let’s duplicate the inner-body shape and give it that dark brown color.

copy body for shading

We’re going to place this shape under the main inner-body shape (using Lower or Page Down key). Let’s offset it about 10px to the right and 10px to the bottom. You’ll see that this makes the hedgehog’s body pop out a bit.

position shade shape

For the hedgehog’s whole shadow, duplicate the main spikes shape. We’re going to make this shape black with an Alpha: 50.

add shadow to the spikes

Position accordingly (Lower to Bottom or End key). When you’re done, you can select everything and group the hedgehog for easier access later.

position main shadow

Let’s add that nice, green background now (I have a 600 x 600px canvas, so that’s also my background size).

add green background

Use the Pen tool to draw a four-point triangle shape, and then smooth the bottom 3 nodes as shown below.

draw leaf shape

Once you’ve got that leaf perfectly shaped, grab the Pencil tool and freehand a few of the details as shown below.

detail the leaf

Let’s give this leaf an autumn color and then make those leaf lines black with the Alpha: 50 again.

style the leaf

Can’t forget the stem! Just freehand it with the Pencil tool and give it a Width: 2 along with a rounded cap. Color the stroke with a dark gray. Also, you’ll probably end up having to Lower it behind the leaf.

draw leaf stem

To keep things awesome, let’s duplicate the leaf a couple times to get some different color varieties. At this point, you’ll want to Group each of these leaves (separately).

make more leaf colors

Now that we’ve got our leaves all set, we need to spread them out. First, select your first leaf. Then immediately after, grab the Spray tool and set the options similar to what I have below (you can play with these options to your liking).

the scatter tool

Now you can just click-hold and spray the leaves around.

click and spray

Repeat with the other two colored leaves (remember, select the object in which to spray, then select the Spray tool to do so). When you’re finished, select all of the leaves (shift-click to deselect anything) and Group all of the leaves.

finish spraying all colored leaves

With the leaves group selected, head up to Filters > Shadows and Glows > Drop Shadow to add some depth to this bunch of leaves. You can use similar settings shown below, or whatever looks best for you (don’t forget to check Live preview… big help).

add shadow to leaves

With the shadow up to par, we can finally Lower this bunch of leaves behind the hedgehog. With everything in position now, I went back and picked out a couple of the leaves that I didn’t particularly like. Of course, this process is completely random, so yours will be slightly different.

position leaves

Here’s our final product. Thanks for joining in on this Inkscape tutorial, I hope it was entertaining and full of some cool new things to do in your designs.

finished hedgehog

View the original article here

বুধবার, ৫ জুন, ২০১৩

Create a simple kawaii Yeti with basic shapes in Adobe Illustrator

Translate Request has too much data
Parameter name: request
Translate Request has too much data
Parameter name: request

In this tutorial, I am going to show you how to make a cute monster character in Adobe Illustrator using basic shapes, Pathfinder panel, Width Tool, and Strokes. You will be able to apply these techniques to create other characters. Let’s get started!

Start off by creating a New Document (CMD + N) and set the artboard size to 600 by 600px. Create a square the size of the artboard using the Rectangle Tool (M) and fill with a light blue color (R=182, G=235, B=239).

In the Layers panel, create two layers. The top layer is renamed "Character" and the bottom layer is renamed "Background." Lock the bottom layer.

Select the top layer "Character". We are going to create the body shape now. Select the Ellipse Tool (L) and click anywhere on the board. Enter width: 290px and height: 240px. Fill with white.

Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the top point. While holding SHIFT, drag the top point approximately 80px up.

Select the top point again. Select the left handle and drag it to the left, so it looks like this:

Select the bottom point, and SHIFT drag down about 10px.

Now to make it symmetrical, create a rectangle that is larger than the body with the Rectangle Tool (M). With the Selection Tool (V), place it so that the left edge lines up with the center of the body shape. Select both shapes. Bring up the Pathfinder panel and click Minus Front.

Select the half and go to Object > Transform > Reflect. Select the Vertical Axis and hit Copy. Drag the other half to the right so that they snap in the center. Select both shapes and in the Pathfinder panel, hit Unite.

We are going to create the legs now. Using the Ellipse Tool (L), create a circle 60px wide. With Direct Selection Tool (A), select the bottom point and SHIFT-drag down about 45px.

To make the bottom less pointed, select the bottom point with the Direct Selection Tool (A). Drag the left handle slightly to the left while holding SHIFT. Do the same to the right side.

Place the leg at the bottom left of the body. Then drag a copy to the right. To do this, hold down ALT + SHIFT while dragging the shape.

Select the body and two legs and in the Pathfinder, click Unite.

Select the body and outline it with 6pt Stroke Weight and click Round Cap and Round Join. I picked a dark brown color (R=96, G=60, B=54).

To make the face shape, make an ellipse using the Ellipse Tool (L) with width: 210px and height: 120px. Fill with a darker blue color (R=96, G=198, B=208). Direct select (A) the bottom point and SHIFT-drag up about 10px.

Place this shape in the upper half of the body.

Now on to the eyes. Create an ellipse using the Ellipse Tool (L) with width: 30px and height: 38px. Fill with the same dark brown color. Select the ellipse and go to Object > Path > Offset Path. Enter -4px in Offset and hit OK.

Select both shapes and in the Pathfinder panel, hit Minus Front. Create a larger rectangle with the Rectangle Tool (M) and place it over the bottom half of the shape. In the Pathfinder again, hit Minus Front, so you’re left with an arch shape.

Stroke the eye with the same color using 3 pt weight, Round Cap, and Round Join. Place the eye on blue face shape and duplicate (ALT + SHIFT-Drag).

Next is the mouth. Create an ellipse using the Ellipse Tool (L) with width: 36px and height: 38px. Fill with the same brown color. Make a larger rectangle using the Rectangle Tool (M) and place it over the top half of the ellipse. Select both shapes, and in the Pathfinder, hit Minus Front.

To make the tongue, create the same ellipse and place over the semi circle shape. Select the semi circle, Copy it (CMD + C) and Paste in Front (CMD + F). Now select the semi circle and the ellipse. In the Pathfinder, click Intersect. Fill the tongue shape with a pink color (R=238, G=96, B=146).

Select the brown semi circle shape and outline with 4pt Stroke Weight, Round Cap, and Round Join. Select Align Stroke to Outside. Select all shapes of the mouth and Group together (CMD + G). Place the mouth in between the eyes.

Let’s makes the cheeks. Simply make an ellipse with the Ellipse Tool (L) 28px wide and 14px high. Fill it with the same pink color as the tongue. Place it below the left eye and drag a duplicate to the right side (ALT + SHIFT-drag).

Now we’ll make the hair. Using the Pen Tool (P), draw out the hair with a white fill. Draw the left "leaf" shape first. Continue to draw the second and third leaf shapes. Do not close the path. See this great Pen Tool Guide if you’re unfamiliar with the Pen Tool.

Place the hair shape above the face.

To make the hair’s shadow, Copy the hair shape (CMD + C) and Paste in Back (CMD + B). Move it down by SHIFT-dragging. Fill it with a darker blue color (R=66, G=146, B=169).

The top right corner of the shadow is still showing. To hide this, Direct Select (A) the top right point and move it to the left.

Define the hair line by stroking the hair. First Copy the white hair shape (CMD + C) and Paste in Front (CMD + F). Select the hair shape and Stroke with the same brown color, 5pt Stroke Weight, Round Cap, and Round Join.

Let’s create the belly. First create an ellipse using the Ellipse Tool (L) with width: 112px and height 80px. Fill it with the same blue color as the face. Then outline it with the same color with a 32pt Stroke Weight and Round Cap. Check Dashed Line, enter 0pt in dash, and 22pt in gap. This will create a scalloped edge.

Place the belly below the face.

Create the belly button by making a Line using the Line Segment Tool (\) 16px long. Stroke with the brown color, 5pt, and Round Cap. Then Copy it (CMD + C) and Paste in Front (CMD + F). Rotate the copy 90 degrees. Select both lines, Group them (CMD + G), and rotate 45 degrees.

Place it in lower portion of belly.

Let’s give it some arms. We will use the Pen Tool (P) and Width Tool (SHIFT + W) to do this. Start off by drawing a simple curved line with the Pen Tool (P) as shown below. Give it a white Stroke with 3pt Weight and Round Cap.

With the line selected, select the Width Tool (SHIFT + W). Enlarge the top point to about 26px and the bottom point to about 40px.

To turn this into a shape, select the line and go to Object > Path > Outline Stroke.

Create the arm’s shadow like we did earlier for the hair. Copy the arm (CMD + C) and Paste in Back (CMD + B). SHIFT-drag it down and fill with a gray color (R=109, G=110, B=112). Set Opacity to 80%.

We need to open the path. Zoom in so you can see the points better. Use the Scissors Tool (C) to cut the path at two points towards the top. Delete the top portion.

The shadow is peeking through. Simply select the top point and move it down.

Now we can outline the arm. Select the arm and Stroke with the brown color, 5pts, and Round Cap. Select the arm and its shadow. Group them together (CMD + G). Place the arm on the left side of the body. Then select the whole arm and go to Object > Transform > Reflect. Reflect in the Vertical Axis and Copy. SHIFT-drag it to the right side.

This monster needs some horns. We can make them the same way we did as the arms with the Width Tool (SHIFT + W). Using the Pen Tool (P), draw a curved line and stroke it with yellow and 3pt. (R=255, G=240, B=104). With the Width Tool (SHIFT + W), enlarge both points like so:

Select the line and go to Object > Path > Outline Stroke to turn it into a shape. Then, outline it with a 6pt Stroke Weight in dark brown.

Now we need to place the horn behind the monster. Select the horn and hit CMD + SHIFT + [ . The horn was sent behind everything. Position the horn on top and rotate if needed.

Let’s add some stripes to the horn. Select the horn and go to Object > Expand and hit OK. Then Ungroup (CMD + SHIFT + G). Select the yellow fill shape and Copy it (CMD + C) and Paste in Front (CMD + F). Select both fill shapes by Drag-selecting the whole horn and SHIFT+clicking the outline shape to deselect it. Now that you have the two fill shapes selected, go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (CMD + 7).

Double-click the fill shape to get into the mask.

With the Pen Tool (P), a darker yellow color (R=242, G=212, B=66), Stroke 12pt, draw 3 stripes. Then click out of the mask.

Select the whole horn and go to Object > Transform > Reflect and hit Copy. SHIFT-drag the horn to the other side.

Let’s add some details to the feet. To do this, use the same method as the previous step by making a Clipping Mask with the body. Click into the mask. Now let’s create the foot detail. Make a rectangle the covers the bottom third of the leg with the Rectangle Tool (M). Fill it with the same color as the belly.

Then make three small equal ellipses with the Ellipse Tool (L) and place them on top of the rectangle. Group the ellipses (CMD +G).

Select the grouped ellipses and rectangle, bring up the Pathfinder, and hit Minus Front. Duplicate it to the other side (ALT + SHIFT-drag) and click out of the mask.

The monster is almost complete! Add a gray shadow by making an ellipse 250px wide and 28px high. Place it behind everything with (CMD + SHIFT + [ ) and at the bottom.

The last step is to add a background. Yetis live in the mountains, right? I decided to create abstract mountains with simple triangles. First lock the "Character Layer" and unlock the "Background Layer". Select the "Background Layer". To create a triangle, select the Star Tool and click anywhere on the board. Enter 10px in Radius 1, 20px in Radius 2, and 3 Points. Fill it with a pale blue color (R=235, G=251, B=252). Rotate the triangle 180 degrees. Duplicate and arrange the triangles to form "mountains".

Lastly, change the colors of the triangles to create a gradient effect.

Our Yeti Monster illustration is finished! You can now create a variety of monsters using all the techniques you learned in this tutorial. I hope you enjoyed making this cute monster.

I later created a pattern and made a plushie of my yeti character. You can find out how I did by checking out my plushie making tutorial over on Crafttuts+.


View the original article here